The year of near misses

by Mark Pringle

In 1982 Beegees won every First Division honour: the Premiership, Grand Final and Clive Fenn Cup.  1983 was a year of near misses as they came 3rd just 2 points behind Premiers Noosa, lost an epic Grand Final to Noosa 5-4 and were knocked out of the Clive Fenn Cup at the semi-final stage by Noosa.

In 1983 Beegees were again coached by Bevan Chantler and captained by Tommy Giles.

During the home and away fixtures Beegees lost just once to Noosa at Tewantin by 5-2.  Despite this impressive record Beegees came third behind Premiers Noosa and Buderim.

The 1983 Grand Final will long be remembered.  It was the first Grand Final played at Ballinger Park, Buderim.  From 1975 the Sunshine Coast Soccer Association had played all Grand Finals at a re-developed Glasshouse Mountains Sportsground.

The Grand Final was between fierce rivals; Beegees and Noosa.  Noosa won 5-4 in extra-time after a Beegees own goal.  Late in the first half Beegees were leading 3-0.  Noosa managed to claw their way back to 4-4 at full-time to force the game into extra-time.  Tragically, Beegees striker Warren Whisson scored all 4 Beegees goals and ended up on the losing team.

Other Beegees teams had more success in winning their Grand Finals:

  • Third Division beat Premiers Caloundra 2-1 after coming 3rd
  • Colts beat Premiers Woombye 2-0 after coming 3rd

Table 1983

1983 – Player Profiles

1983 – Squad Picture

1983 – Steve Walsh (Noosa) goal

1983 – Warren Whisson